

MESSIAH LUTHERAN CHURCH

Leadership Roster

Purpose

The purpose of this policy to lay out the short and long term leadership structure of Messiah Lutheran Church in line with its *Constitution, Bylaws and Continuing Resolutions*.

Officers of the Congregation

Chapter 11 of Messiah's *Constitution, Bylaws and Continuing Resolutions* lays out the duties of all five Officers, who are elected on an annual basis at the March meeting of the Congregation Council. Chapter 13 discusses the role of officers as the Executive Committee of the congregation, tasked with developing the Council's agenda and assisting the Pastor in making decisions in between meetings of the Council.

Position	Name
President	???
Vice President	???
Treasurer	René Dunda-Martin
Secretary	Crystal Murray
Financial Secretary	Penny Incitti

Congregation Council

Chapter 12 of Messiah's *Constitution, Bylaws and Continuing Resolutions* lays out the duties and powers of all nine elected Council Members (in addition to called pastors and deacons). Council Members are elected to either a partial or full three year term at the Annual Meeting of the Congregation and take their seats in March of that year.

An asterisk denotes an interim appointment by the Congregation Council to fill a vacancy until the next Annual Meeting of the Congregation.

Name	Term
Kristen Olochnowicz	22-25
Penny Incitti	22-25
René Dunda-Martin	22-25
Tammi Crowther	23-26
Crystal Murray	23-26
Dave Barnett	23-26
Brian Maki	24-27
Merle Longwood	24-27
Kären Telfeyan	24-27
Rev. Dustin G. Longmire	N/A

Community Center Advisory Board

Chapter 13 of Messiah's *Constitution, Bylaws and Continuing Resolutions* lays out the duties and powers of the (up to) nine elected Community Center Advisory Board Members (in addition to called pastors and deacons). Advisory Board Members are elected to either a partial or full three-year term at the Annual Meeting of the Congregation and take their seats in March of that year.

An asterisk denotes an interim appointment by the Congregation Council to fill a vacancy until the next Annual Meeting of the Congregation.

Name	Term
Rachel DeTeso-Mathis	22-25
Annie Grzywaczewski	22-25
Jackie DeTeso	22-25
???	23-26
Penny Incitti (Financial Secretary)	23-26
Katherine Snively (Secretary)	23-26
Kimlee Marquise (Chair)	23-26
???	24-27
Randolph McGough	24-27
Pete Jones (Vice Chair)	24-27
Chris DeTeso	24-27
Rev. Dustin Longmire	N/A

Ministry Committee Chairs

Chapter 13 of Messiah's *Constitution, Bylaws and Continuing Resolutions* lays out the duties and powers of all ministry committees and their respective chairs. New ministry committees are created, modified or disbanded by a vote of the Congregation Council or the Congregation to amend to relevant portion of Messiah's *Governance Policy* with a description of that ministry committee's purpose.

All ministry committees are grouped into one of five "ministry teams" that have a common meeting date and time: Faith Formation, Fellowship, Stewardship, Social Action and Worship & Music.

Each of the five ministry teams will also appoint a Convener who will complete the following four tasks:

• Sends out reminders about upcoming meetings and minutes from past meetings.

- Sends minutes to the Secretary.
- Chairs ministry team meetings.
- Informs the President and Secretary if any action is needed from the Congregation Council.

Ministry	Chair(s)			
SOCIAL ACTION MINISTRY TEAM Convener: Karen Keenan				
Social Justice	Kimlee Marquise			
Community Service	???			
Bread of Life Food Pantry	Judy Becker Jill Becker			
Produce Pantry	Sarah Bachorik			
FAITH FORMATION MINISTRY TEAM Convener: Kelly Jordan				
Adult Education	Merle Longwood			
Sunday School	Cheryl Borski			
Cradle Roll	Allison Bode			
Youth	???			
FELLOWSHIP MINISTRY TEAM Convener: ???				
Lutheran Men in Mission	???			
Women of the ELCA	Jill Becker			
Care & Concern	Linda Slovacek- Price			
Young Adults	???			
Kitchen	Rich Becker Karen Kreischer			
Over 55 Gang	Barb Hallett			
Welcome	???			
Arts & Culture	Barbara Quackenbush			

STEWARDSHIP MINISTRY TEAM Convener: Kristie Becker				
Communications	???			
Creation Care	Nancy Stuebner			
Personnel	Pete Jones			
Property & Grounds	Steve Friebel			
Mission Support	???			
Archives	???			
Budget & Finance	Kristie Becker			
WORSHIP & MUSIC MINISTRY TEAM Convener: Emily Russo				
Worship & Music	Heather Zimmer			

Elected & Appointed Committees

Chapters 5 & 13 of Messiah's *Constitution, Bylaws and Continuing Resolutions* lay out additional committees and positions elected or appointed on a regular basis.

Nominating Committee

Develops a slate of leaders for elected positions for the following year's Annual Meeting of the Congregation. Elected at the Annual Meeting of the Congregation.

- Kimlee Marquise
- Kristen Olochnowicz
- René Dunda-Martin
- Penny Incitti (Chair)

ELCA Upstate New York & Hudson Mohawk Conference Assembly Delegation

Represents the congregation at the current year's ELCA Upstate New York Synod & Hudson Mohawk Conference Assemblies. Elected at the Annual Meeting of the Congregation.

- Scott Heller
- Tracy Heller

Schenectady Community Ministries (SiCM) Assembly Delegates

Represents the congregation at Schenectady Community Ministries assemblies. Elected at the Annual Meeting of the Congregation.

- Judy Becker
- Betsy Ryan

Audit Committee

Oversees an annual internal audit of the congregation's finances and works with external auditors as needed. Every year one member is elected at the March Meeting of the Congregation Council.

- Neal Fisher (Chair) | 2022 2025
- Cam Jacobs | 2023 2026
- ??? | 2024 2027

Mutual Ministry Committee

Supports and encourages the work of the rostered minister. Appointed to two-year staggered terms jointly by the President and the Rostered Minister in the month of February.

- Merle Longwood | 2023 2025
- Jean Jones | 2023 2025
- Rachel DeTeso-Mathis (Chair) | 2024 2026
- Sue Collins | 2024 2026

Safe Church Team

Oversees the implementation of the *Safe Church Policy* of Messiah Lutheran Church and acts as lead decision makers and responders if there is an allegation of abuse. Appointed to two-year staggered terms jointly by the President and the Rostered Minister in the month of February.

- Ernie Incitti | 2023 2025
- Tammi Crowther | 2024 2026

Temporary Task Forces

Chapter 13 of Messiah's *Constitution, Bylaws and Continuing Resolutions* also provides for the creation of short-term task forces to complete various tasks. Task forces are created, modified, or disbanded by vote of the Congregation Council or the Congregation to amend this document.

Community Center Redevelopment Task Force

Works with consultants from the New York State Council of Church's "Who Is My Neighbor" Process to continue to work of redeveloping the Trinity Community Center Property. Created by a December 2022 vote at the Annual Budget Meeting of the Congregation.

- Chris Jordan
- Sue Collins
- Kimlee Marquise
- Penny Incitti

Parish Directory Task Force

Works with the Director of Operations to complete a new Parish Directory by Reformation Sunday, October 27th, 2024.

- Meredith Colacino (Chair)
- ???
- ???